What You Can Do About NC-H.561

The following is an email I sent to Wake County Representatives, concerning the issue of legislation-run engineering. If you can, write something similar RIGHT NOW to your representatives. A list of NC Representatives can be found here. Here is a list of NC Senators.

From: Mike Roselli 
To: Jennifer.Weiss@ncleg.net, Paul.Stam@ncleg.net,
Deborah.Ross@ncleg.net, Tom.Murry@ncleg.net,
Grier.Martin@ncleg.net, Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net,
Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net, Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net,
Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net, Richard.Stevens@ncleg.net,
Josh.Stein@ncleg.net, Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net,
Dan.Blue@ncleg.net

Senators and Representatives,

I live in Wake County and I work in the engineering field. I’ve been made aware of H561, a bill to supersede engineering safety design decisions made by engineers at NCDOT. I urge you to NOT back this bill. It is not based on facts, research, or scientific credibility, but on fears of change. It has been well established in the engineering community that highway medians substantially increase driver safety and save many lives every year without impacting local businesses.

A research paper on this topic can be found here: http://blogs.newsobserver.com/sites/drupalblogs.newsobserver.com/files/docs/ncsu2009-12FinalReport.pdf

Over 30,000 people will die this year in the U.S. from motor vehicle collisions.[1] We cannot set a precedence of State legislature overseeing every engineering decision made in the name of public safety. Do we remove stop signs when businesses ask? Do we remove bridge supports when someone finds them unappealing? That is, in essence, what some are suggesting: taking the complaints of the uneducated few and using these complaints to stifle progress in public safety and safety awareness at the cost of human lives.

I have a write up on my website with more details.

Thanks for everything you do,
Mike Roselli
www.mikeroselli.net
Wake Co Resident

1. Source: List of Motor Vehicle Deaths by Year

Mike Roselli is a graduate of the NC State Civil Engineering Department. This writing reflects the views, opinions, and judgement of the author and does not necessarily reflect the views, opinions, or judgement of NC State University or NCDOT.

One Response to What You Can Do About NC-H.561

Leave a Response